Press Releases

  • TERI School of Advanced Studies will now be TERI University

    5 October 2006

    Starting today, the TERI School of Advanced Studies will be called the TERI University. Set-up as the TERI School of Advanced Studies in 1998, the institution was recognized as a deemed university by the UGC (University Grants Commission) in 1999 and has been subsequently renamed as the TERI University today. At present, the University offers Ph D, M Sc (Environmental Studies), M Sc (Natural Resources Management), MA (Public Policy & Sustainable Development), and MBA (Infrastructure) programmes.

    Talking on the occasion, Gp Capt Rajiv Seth, Registrar, TERI University said, "This is a major step in the growth trajectory of the University which has already established a name in the areas in which it offers master's and doctoral level programmes".

    Following the UGC's note permitting the use of the word 'University' by deemed universities, the Board of Management of the School decided to change the name to TERI University (established under Section 3 of the UGC Act 1956 vide notification number F-9.19/95-U3 dated 05 Oct 1999.) The University will be holding its first convocation on 16 October 2006, when 7 students will receive their doctoral degrees and 36 will be conferred with master's degrees. Mr Nandan Nilekani, CEO and MD of Infosys Technologies will deliver the convocation address.

    The TERI University has been set up as an institution of higher learning to meet the needs of a rapidly developing India. But, as a global institution, while it draws strength from the ethos and traditions of India, it reaches out in sourcing knowledge from across the globe. Its major strength lies in the reservoir of knowledge, experience, and research experience of the parent body-TERI. The academic programmes of the University have been structured around the research experience and skill sets gained in TERI over the last three decades. Having begun with doctoral programmes in 2001, it has gone on to offer various master's degrees since 2003. The doctoral programmes and research center around four basic themes: natural resources management, biotechnology, policy & regulation, and energy & environment.

    In order to facilitate mutually beneficial exchange of students, faculty, knowledge, resources, and ideas, TERI University has a memorandum of understanding with the School of Forestry and Environmental Studies of the Yale University; with Monash University and La Trobe University, Australia; Donald Danforth Plant Science Centre, USA; and the University of Nottingham, UK.