Press Releases

  • TERI wins first Surinder Singh Memorial Cricket Trophy

    30 April 2005

    In a closely contested, The Energy and Resources Institute (TERI) defeated the Parliamentarians by 8 wickets to take home the first Surinder Singh Memorial Cricket Trophy. The trophy has been instituted in memory of the late Member of Parliament, who died tragically in a recent helicopter crash. The competition for the trophy will henceforth be an annual event.

    The two teams met to play at the Patchy Greens, the TERI-developed cricket ground in the rocky region of Gual Pahari, Gurgaon. This lush green ground, which has played host to two Ranji Trophy and one Duleep Trophy match among others, witnessed an exciting contest today. The Parliamentarians' captain, Jyotiraditya Scindia won the toss and elected to bat.

    The Parliamentarians team, electing to bat first, made 107 runs at a loss of 3 wickets. Ex-cricketer Chetan Chauhan was the best scorer with commendable 34 runs, which also won him the Man of the Match award.

    TERI achieved the target of 108 runs in just 16 overs with the loss of 2 wickets. One of the highlights of the innings was the only lady player, Parineeta Mohanty, who played a few good shots despite being out of practice.

    The best bowler and best fielder prize went to K P Eashwar of TERI and parliamentarian Avtar Singh Bhadana, respectively.