



Inauguration of policy dialogue on 'Environmental Governance for Sustainable Development in India' and Book launch Date: 14th July, 2015 Venue: The Taj Mahal Hotel, Mansingh Road, New Delhi

AGENDA

7.00 pm – 7.30 pm	Registration
7.30 PM - 7.45 PM	 Welcome remarks by Dr. Leena Srivastava, Acting Director General, The Energy and Resources Institute (TERI) Ms. Mareen Haring, Project Officer, Konrad Adenauer Stiftung
7.45 PM – 8.15 PM	Setting the stage for a policy dialogue Presentation on the Dialogues on Environmental Governance in the context of Sustainable Development in India
8.15 pm – 8.30 PM	 Launch of Issue Brief and Book on Environmental Federalism Special Remarks by Dr. PG Dhar Chakrabarti, Distinguished Fellow, TERI Special Remarks and launch of book and issue brief by Mr. Ashok Lavasa, Secretary, Ministry of Environment, Forests and
8.30 pm onwards	Climate Change Inaugural Dinner





POLICY DIALOGUE ON

ENVIRONMENTAL GOVERNANCE FOR SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT IN INDIA

Date: 15th July, 2015

Venue: The Taj Mahal Hotel, Mansingh Road, New Delhi

9.30 am - 11.00 am

Session I: Building on previous foundations: Issues in environmental governance for sustainable development in India

Chair: P G Dhar Chakrabarti, Distinguished Fellow, TERI

Speakers

- **Debi Goenka**, Executive Trustee, Conservation Action Trust
- **Meenakshi Kapoor**, Programme Manager, CPR-Namati Environmental Justice Program
- Sanjeev Kumar, Scientist, Desert Regional Center, Zoological Survey of India
- V S Vijayan, Chairman, Salim Ali Foundation
- **Monalisa Sen,** Programme Officer, InsPIRE Network for Environment
- **T R Manoharan,** Forestry Stewardship Council (FSC) National Representative for India
- Sudarshan Rodrigues, Senior Programme Manager, Tata Institute of Social Science (TISS)

11.00 am - 11.15 am

Tea/Coffee Break

11.15 am - 1.00 pm

Session II: Identifying challenges and gaps: Institutions and instruments for environmental governance for India

Chair: S Vijay Kumar, Distinguished Fellow, TERI

Speakers

- **Genda Singh,** Scientist, Arid Forest Research Institute (AFRI)
- **Rita Pandey,** Professor, National Institute of Public Finance & Policy (NIPFP)
- **N Ramaiah**, Chief Scientist, National Institute of Oceanography
- **K J Joy**, Senior Fellow, Society for Promoting Participative Ecosystem Management (SOPPECOM)
- Jarjum Ete, President, Galo Welfare Society
- Solano Da Silva, Assistant Professor, BITS Pilani Goa Campus
- Narain Varde, Former Member Secretary, Goa Energy

Development Agency and former Director, Science & Technology, Goa

• Alito Sequiera, Associate Professor, Goa University

1.00 pm - 2.00 pm Lunch

2.00 pm – 4.00 pm Session III: Towards a progressive agenda for environmental governance in the context of sustainable development for India

Co-Chairs: Tanka B Subba, Vice Chancellor, Sikkim University and **Sanjeev Ahluwalia**, Advisor, Observer Research Foundation

Speakers

- Balveer Arora, Chairman, Centre for Multilevel Federalism
- Abhayraj Naik, Faculty, Azim Premji University
- **Deepak Sanan**, Addl. Chief Secy. (Redressal of Public Grievances), Government of Himachal Pradesh
- Vibha Arora, Associate Professor, IIT Delhi
- **Manvendra Singh,** Member of Legislative Assembly, Barmer (Rajasthan)

Open Discussion

4.00 pm – 4.30 pm Concluding remarks for the policy dialogue

Followed by tea/coffee