







Conference on

Reducing Water Footprints of Thermal Power Plants in India

in association with

NTPC Energy and Technological Research Alliance (NETRA)

Supported by
Shakti Sustainable Energy Foundation
&-

VA TECH WABAG Limited

Agenda

December 5-6, 2016 Silver Oak Hall, India Habitat Centre, Lodhi Road, New Delh

Silver Oak Hall, India Habitat Centre, Lodhi Road, New Delhi	
December 5 (Day 1)	
Registration: 9.30 am onwards	
Inaugural Session	
10.00-10.05	Lighting the Lamp
10.05-10.10	Welcome Address
	Dr. S. K. Dube, Senior Fellow, TERI
10:10-10:20	Introduction to the conference
	Dr. Shresth Tayal, Fellow, TERI
10:20-10:30	Opening Remarks
	Dr. Ajay Mathur, Director General, TERI
10:30-10:40	Address by
	Dr. M. Ariz Ahammed
	Mission Director, National Water Mission &
	Member (Finance), CGWB
10:40-10:45	Release of Policy Brief
	"Water Neutral Electricity Production in India: Avoiding the
	Unmanageable"
10:45-11:00	Special Address by
	Dr. Amarjit Singh
	OSD, Ministry of Water Resources, River Development & Ganga
	Rejuvenation
11:00-11:05	Vote of Thanks
	Mr. Anshuman, Associate Director, Water Resources & Forestry
	Division, TERI
11:05-11:30	Tea Break









Session 1: Water and Energy security: An approach towards sustainable economic development	
11:30-11:40	Chair
	Mr. K Ramanathan
	Distinguished Fellow, TERI
11:40-12:00	Ms. Sonia Grover
	Associate Fellow, TERI
12:00-12:20	Mr. Praveen Chorghade
	Chief, CTDS, Tata Powers
12:20-12:40	Mr Vijay Gupta
	Chief Operating Officer, ACB (India) Power Limited
12:40-12:50	Mr. Rabinder Kant Sikri
	Principal Consultant and CEO, Energy and Energy Consultants
12:50-13:05	Open House Discussion
13:05 – 14:30	Lunch

14:30-14:40	Welcome of Chief Guest
14:40-14:45	Release of Compendium on
	"Best Practices to Reduce Water Footprint of Thermal Power Plants
	in India"
14:45-15:00	Special Address
	Mr Gurdeep Singh
	Chairman & Managing Director, NTPC



16:10-16:30

16:30-16:45

16:45 onwards



Mr Gopi Kant Nayak AGM, NETRA-NTPC

Tea Break

Open House Discussion





Session 2: Specific Water Consumption and Water Footprints: Exploring challenges	
and opportunities	
15:00-15:10	Chair
	Mr Pradeep Jain
	General Manager, NETRA
Speakers	
15:10-15:30	Dr. Rashid Hasan
	Ex-Advisor and Scientist 'G'
	Ministry of Environment, Forests & Climate Change
15:30-15:50	Ms. Rochi Khemka
	Regional Coordinator – Asia, 2030 Water Resources Group
15:50-16:10	Mr. Anshuman
	Associate Director, Water Resources & Forestry Division, TERI

December 6 (Day 2)	
Session 3: Emerging trends in Technology for reducing water consumption	
09.30-09.40	Chair
	Mr. Deepak Gupta
	Shakti Sustainable Energy Foundation
Speakers	
09:40-10:00	Mr. R K Sharma
	DGM (Chemistry), NTPC-Jhajjar
10.00-10.20	Mr S K Grover ¹ and Mr. V K Sehgal ²
	¹⁻ Former Advisor, Tata Powers
	² – Advisor Global Coal and Mining Private Limited
10.20-10.40	Mr Vivek Jha
	Co-founder, Yellow Tropus Pvt. Ltd.









10:40-11:00	Mr. Himanshu Gupta Sales Leader, GE Water & Process Technologies
11:00-11:15	Open House Discussion
11.15-11.30	Tea Break
Session 4: Optim	izing water use: A step towards sustainability
11:30-11.40	Chair Mr. S C Shrivastava Chief (Engineering), Central Electricty Regulatory Commission
Speakers	
11:40-12:00	Mr. Dipankar Biswas AGM, NTPC
12:00-12:20	Ms. Neelima Tata Power
12:20-12:40	Mr. Manish Gandhi Vice President, Ion Exchange
12:40-13:00	Ashish Katoch ¹ and Manjay Kumar Verma ² ¹ Deputy General Manager, Marketing. ² Deputy Manager, Global Business Development. VA TECH WABAG LIMITED
13:00-13:15	Open House Discussion
13:15-14:30	Lunch Break
Session 5: Lookin	ng beyond the boundaries: adopting watershed approach
14:30-14:40	Chair Mr. S.K. Roy Executive Director - Operation Services, NTPC
Speakers	
14:40-15:00	Dr. Shresth Tayal Fellow, TERI
15:00-15:20	Dr. Arvind Kumar President, India Water Foundation
15:20-15:40	Ms. Marta Catalinas Perez CEDEX, Spain









15:40-16:00	Mr. Navin Kapur Programme Co-ordinator, Hindustan Unilever Foundation
16:00-16:15	Open House Discussion
16:15-16:30	Tea Break

16:30-16:40	Conference Summary
	Dr. Shresth Tayal
	Fellow, TERI
16:40-16:50	Valedictory Address
	Mr. R K Srivastava
	Executive Director, NETRA
16:50-17:00	Concluding Remarks
	Dr. S K Sarkar
	Director, Water Resources & Forestry Division, TERI