

## **Agenda**



## First International Conference on Sustainable Fuels (ICSF) for IC Engines in Emerging Nations

## 2-3 February 2015, Hotel Taj Palace, New Delhi, India

Day 1		Monday, 2 <sup>nd</sup> February 2015
From	То	Wionday, 2 February 2015
8:00	9:00	Registration
9:00	10:00	Inaugural Session
		Lamp Lighting
		<ul> <li>Welcome Address:</li> <li>Dr R K Pachauri , Director-General, TERI &amp; Chairperson, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change</li> </ul>
		Keynote Address:  • Dr Tim Leverton, Head Advanced and Product Engg, Engg Research Centre, Tata Motors, India
		Inaugural Address:  • Shri Nitin Gadkari, Honorable Union Cabinet Minister of Road Transport and Highways; and Shipping, Government of India (Invited)
		Vote of Thanks
10:00	10:15	Tea / Coffee Break

10:15	12:15	Session 1: Recent Development in Alternate Vehicle Fuels
		<ul> <li>Address by Session Chair:         <ul> <li>Dr D K Tuli, Executive Director and Centre Coordinator, DBT-IOC Bio-Energy Centre, Indian Oil Corporation, R&amp;D Centre, Faridabad, India</li> </ul> </li> <li>Prof. Surya Prakash, Professor and George A and Judith A Olah Nobel Laureate Chair in Hydrocarbon Chemistry, University of Southern California, USA</li> <li>Dr Laurel Ann Harmon, Vice President Government Relations, LanzaTech, USA</li> <li>Dr Rebecca Boudreaux, President, Oberon Fuels, San Diego, USA</li> <li>Dr B P Das, Executive Director (I/C), Indian Oil Corporation Limited, R&amp;D Centre, Faridabad, Haryana</li> <li>Prof. Virendra K Vijay, Professor, Centre for Rural Development and Technology, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi, India</li> </ul>
		Summary by Session Chair
12.:15	13:00	Lunch Break
13:00	15:00	Session 2A: State of Art Development in Automobile Engines for Flex fuels - An Industrial Perspective
		<ul> <li>Address by Session Chair:         <ul> <li>Dr Michael Julian Richardson, Chief Technical Specialist, Jaguar and Land Rover Research, Warwick University, Coventry, UK</li> </ul> </li> <li>Mr. Thomas Korfer, Vice President-Business Unit Passenger Car Diesel Engines, FEV GmbH, Aachen, Germany</li> </ul>

		<ul> <li>Dr. Hubert Friedl, Global Product Manager for Gasoline Engines, AVL Powertrain Systems Passenger Cars, AVL List GmbH, Graz, Austria</li> </ul>
		<ul> <li>Mr Yoshiki Hashimoto, Project General Manager, Energy Affairs Department, Toyota Motor Corporation, Japan</li> </ul>
		<ul> <li>Mr Rajendra Petkar, Senior General Manager, Head – Power Systems Engineering, Engineering Research Centre, Tata Motors Limited, Pune, India</li> </ul>
		<ul> <li>Mr Krister Thulin, Presales &amp; Marketing Director, Scania Commercial Vehicles India Pvt Ltd, Kolar, Karnataka</li> </ul>
		Summary by Session Chair
15:00	15:15	Tea / Coffee Break
15:15	16:55	Session 2B: Recent Development in Alternate Vehicle Fuels - A Fuel Industry Perspective
		Address by Session Chair:  • Dr R K Malhotra, Ex-Director, Indian Oil Corporation, R&D Centre, Faridabad, Haryana, India
		<ul> <li>Dr Ritu Mathur, Professor, TERI University and Senior Fellow, TERI, New Delhi, India</li> </ul>
		• Prof. Ock Taeck Lim, Professor, School of Automotive and Mechanical Engg., Ulsan University, Korea
		Dr Alan Del Paggio , Vice President, Upstream and Renewables, CRI, USA
		<ul> <li>Mr Mallikarjun Navalgund, Executive Vice President, Advanced Biofuels &amp; Chemicals, Praj Industries Limited, Pune, India</li> </ul>

		Summary by Session Chair
16:55	17:05	Tea/Coffee Break
17:05	18:30	High Level Panel Discussion on Alternate Fuel Policy, Regulation and Policy Interventions in Automobile Sector
		Session Moderator:  • Dr Leena Srivastava, Vice Chancellor, TERI University and Honorary Executive Director, TERI
		<ul> <li>Ministers: *         <ul> <li>Shri Prakash Javadekar- Hon'ble Minister of State for Environment, Forest and Climate Change (Independent Charge), Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change, Govt. of India</li> <li>Mr Eduardo Braga - Ministry of Mines and Energy, Brazil</li> <li>Mr Yoichi Miyazawa- Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry- Japan</li> <li>Air Chief Marshal Prajin Juntong-Ministry of Transport &amp; Communication, Thailand</li> </ul> </li> </ul>
		<ul> <li>Other Panelists: *         <ul> <li>Dr Tim Leverton, Head Advanced and Product Engg, Engg Research Centre, Tata Motors, India</li> <li>Mr Vikram Mehta- Executive Chairman, Brookings India, New Delhi, India</li> <li>Mr Saar Shafir - Deputy Director, Fuel Choice Initiative, Israel</li> <li>Shri Saurabh Chandra - Secretary, Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas, Govt. of India, New Delhi, India</li> <li>Dr Bharat Bhargava-Director General, ONGC Energy Centre, New Delhi, India</li> <li>Dr Rebecca Boudreaux, President, Oberon Fuels, San Diego, USA</li> <li>Dr R K Malhotra- Ex Director, IOC, Faridabad, India</li> <li>Mr Harjeet Singh-Vice President &amp; Head of Global Regulatory, Hero Motor Corporation Limited, New Delhi, India</li> <li>Mr Vishnu Mathur-Director General, SIAM, New Delhi, India</li> </ul> </li> </ul>
		* Invited

18:30	19:15	Cocktails & Snacks
19:15 onwards		Euphoria Concert followed by Dinner
Day 2		
From	То	Tuesday, 3 <sup>rd</sup> February 2015
9:00	10:40	Session 3A: A Roadmap towards Zero Emission Drop-in Fuels
		<ul> <li>Address by Session Chair:         <ul> <li>Prof. Surya Prakash, Professor and George A and Judith A Olah Nobel Laureate Chair in Hydrocarbon Chemistry, University of Southern California, USA</li> </ul> </li> <li>Prof. Moti Herskowitz, Director, Blechner Center for Industrial Catalysis &amp; Process Development, Israel Cohen Chair in Chemical Engineering, Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Israel</li> <li>Prof. Arthur Ragauskas, Professor, School of Chemistry &amp; Biochemistry, Georgia Institute of Technology, GA</li> <li>Prof. Karen Wilson, Professor of Catalysis and Research Director, European Bioenergy Research Institute (EBRI), Aston University, UK</li> <li>Dr Piyali Das, Fellow, TERI &amp; Adjunct Professor, TERI University, New Delhi, India</li> <li>Summary by Session Chair</li> </ul>
10:40	10:55	Tea/Coffee Break

10:55	12:55	Session 3B: Combustion of alternate fuels in IC Engines - An LCA (Life Cycle Analysis & Well to Wheel Approach) and Environmental Aspects
		Address by Session Chair:  • Dr John Richmond, Group Chief Engineer, Mechanical Systems, Tata Group Technology Office, Tata Sons, UK
		<ul> <li>Prof. Pal Borjesson, Professor, Lund University, Sweden</li> <li>Dr Amgad Elgowainy, Life Cycle Analysis Team Lead, Argonne National Laboratory, USA</li> </ul>
		<ul> <li>Prof. Richard Brown, Associate Professor, Queensland University of Technology, Australia</li> <li>Mr Daniel Danielsson, Fuels and Lubricants Technical Expert Mechanical Development, AVL MTC AB, Sodertalje, SWEDEN</li> </ul>
		Dr Ke Fang, Lead Transport Specialist, Transport and ICT Global Practice, World Bank  Summary by Session Chair
12:55	13:30	Valedictory Session
13:30 or	wards	Lunch