















Science-Policy Dialogue on Extreme Events and Adaptation in Maharashtra

7th June, 2014 Y. B. Chavan Centre, Nariman Point, Mumbai

TENTATIVE AGENDA

10:00 – 10:15 am	Registration
Inaugural Session	
10:00– 10:05 am	Arrival of the dignitaries at the venue
10:05 – 10:10 am	Information about environment and inaugural of the technology exhibition
10:10 – 10:11 am	Arrival of the dignitaries to the main auditorium
10:11 – 10:13 am	Welcome remarks – Mr. Rajeev Mittal, Member Secretary, Maharashtra Pollution Control Board.
10:13 – 10:16 am	Welcome ceremony of the dignitaries
10:16 – 10:17 am	Lighting of the lamp and inaugural of the conference
10:17 – 10 19 am	Introduction – Mr. R. A. Rajeev, Principal Secretary,
	Environment, Government of Maharashtra.
10:19 – 10:24 am	Special Remarks – Dr. Prodipto Ghosh, Distinguished Fellow
	and Director, The Energy and Resources Institute
10:24 – 10:29 am	Highlights of EVA Study – Dr. Trond Vedeld, Senior
	Researcher, National Institute of Urban and Regional Research,
	Norway
10:29 – 10:31 am	Distribution of Vasundhara Awards
	Keynote Address
10:31 – 10:36 am	Hon'ble State Minister, Environment, Shri Sachin Ahir,
	Government of Maharashtra
10:36 – 10:41 am	Hon'ble Cabinet Minister, Environment, Shri Sanjay Deotale,
	Government of Maharashtra
10:41 – 10:42 am	Distribution of other awards and release of publications by
	Department of Environment
	Speech Address
10:42 – 10:52 am	Hon'ble Deputy Chief Minister Shri Ajit Pawar
10:52 – 11:02 am	Hon'ble Chief Minister Shri Prithviraj Chauhan
11:02 – 11:03 am	Vote of Thanks
Rappoteurs	Prutha and Aditi

11.00 – 11:20	Tea / coffee	
11.20 – 12.00 Technical Session 1: Vulnerability to extreme drought and climate change in Maharashtra Chairperson / Moderator: Mr. R. A. Rajeev, Principal Secretary, Department of Environment, GoM		
Zirviroimient, Goivi		
11:20 – 11:30	Climate change and drought in Marathwada Ms Suruchi Bhadwal, Associate Director, ES & CCD, TERI	
11:30 – 11:40	Vulnerability of water resources and agriculture in Jalna Ms Sambita Ghosh, Associate Fellow, ES & CCD, TERI	
11:40 – 11:50	Socioeconomic vulnerability of rural households to extreme drought in Jalna Dr Guro Aandahl, Senior Researcher, NIBR	
	Q & A (Discussion)	
12:00 – 13:15	Panel discussion Chair: Dr Prodipto Ghosh, Distinguished Fellow, TERI Panelists	
	- Marathwada Agriculture University, Parbhani	
	 R.Balasubramanian, Scientist-C, India Meteorological Department Mr Vijay S Borade, Managing Trustee, Marathwada Sheti Sahayya Mandal 	
	- Shri Subhash Bodge, Sarpanch, Asarkheda village, Jalna	
13:15 – 13:30	Open discussion	
Rappoteurs	Ulka and Divya	
13:30 – 14:30	Lunch	
14.30 – 15.02 Technical Session 2: Adaptation to extreme drought and climate change in Maharashtra Chairperson / Moderator: Mr Suresh Mathevan, Norwegian Embassy		
14:30 – 14:38	Adaptation to climate change and extreme drought Ms Divya Mohan, Associate Fellow, TERI	
14:38 – 14:46	Governance and institutional aspects of adaptation Dr Trond Vedeld, Senior Researcher, NIBR	
14:46 – 14:54	Gender considerations in adaptation Ms Ulka Kelkar, Fellow, TERI	
14:54– 15:02	Capacity building needs for community based adaptation Mr S G Salunke, Regional Manager, Action for Food Production (AFPRO)	
15:02–15:40	Panel discussion on supporting and scaling up community-based adaptation Chair: Dr T Jayaraman, TISS	

	Panelists
	- Shri A S R Naik , I.A.S., District Collector, Jalna/ Smt.
	Prerna Deshbhratar. I.A.S., C.E.O. Z.P. (tbc)
	- National Bank for Agriculture and Rural Development
	- Shri Chandrakant Kshirsagar, Kadvanchi village, Jalna
	- IFFCO IKSL
	- Mr D. K. Mannavalan, Executive Director, AFPRO
	- Dr. Marcella D'Souza, Executive Director, WOTR
	- Dr Sumant Pande, Associate Professor, YASHADA
Rappoteurs	Suruchi and Sambita
15:40 – 16:00	Audience discussion
16:00 – 16:10	Closing remarks and vote of thanks:
	Ms Suruchi Bhadwal, Associate Director, TERI and Dr Trond
	Vedeld, Senior Researcher, NIBR