Print Dr Leena Srivastava

Dr Leena Srivastava

Hony. Executive Director (Operations), TERI and Vice Chancellor, TERI University

Leena Srivastava is the Vice Chancellor of the TERI University in addition to being an Hony. Executive Director at TERI, New Delhi. The TERI University is a graduate institution engaged in teaching and research on sustainability issues, with nearly 700 students - over a hundred of whom are PhD students.

Dr Srivastava is a member of various Committees and Boards both at the international and national levels. At a think tank/science level she serves on the Energy Advisory Board of the World Economic Forum; Scientific Advisory Panel of the Climate and Clean Air Coalition (CCAC) to reduce Short-Lived Climate Pollutants (SLCPs), UNEP; International Advisory Board of the Helmholtz Programme Technology, Innovation and Society (TIS) and the Helmholtz Alliance Future Infrastructures for Meeting Energy Demands - Towards Sustainability and Social Compatibility Initiative (ENERGY-TRANS). She also serves on the research advisory boards of the Institute of Global Environmental Strategies (IGES), Japan; the Wuppertal Institute for Climate , Germany ; and the Alfred Deakin Research Institute, Australia.

She is an Independent and Non-Executive Director on the Boards of Bharti Infratel Ltd. and Shree Cement Ltd. and Member of the International Advisory Committee, The Coca Cola Company; Board of Directors, Meridian Institute; Council of Advisors for Fraunhofer India; Sustainable Development Advisory Board, Caterpillar Inc. USA; Senior Advisory Group (SAG), Cement Sustainability Initiative (CSI), WBCSD; and the Governing Board of the Stockholm Resilience Centre.

She is the first recipient of Richard von Weizsacker Fellowship of the Robert Bosch Stiftung 2012. In 2008, the Prime Minister of the Republic of France awarded Dr Srivastava with the Knight of the Order of Academic Palms (Chevalier dans l'Ordre des Palmes Academiques). She has also received a Certificate of Recognition from the Prime Minister of India, Dr Manmohan Singh, and the IPCC for her contribution to the work of the IPCC.

She is on the Executive Committee of Sustainable Energy for All after having served on the Advisory Group on Energy and Climate of the UN Secretary General. She was also a member on the Expert Committee to formulate India's Energy Policy, Planning Commission, Government of India; National Security Advisory Board, Government of India and the Expert Committee on Auto Fuels, Government of India. She was a Co-ordinating Lead Author for Working Group III of the Third Assessment Report of Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and cross-cutting theme Anchor on "Sustainable Development" for the Fourth Assessment Report of the IPCC.

Dr Srivastava is on the Editorial Boards of various international journals dealing with energy and environment issues and has a number of publications to her credit. She has a Masters in Economics from the University of Hyderabad and a Ph.D in Energy Economics from the Indian Institute of Science in Bangalore, India.