Press Releases

  • Madhavrao Scindia Memorial Cricket Tournament instituted: Jyotiraditya inaugurates TERI event

    10 November 2005

    TERI today announced the launch of a cricket tournament instituted in memory of the late Mr Madhavrao Scindia. The tournament, played between corporate teams, will henceforth be an annual event held at the "Patchy Greens I & II", TERI RETREAT in Gual Pahari, Gurgaon. The best sixteen corporate teams from Delhi have been chosen for the tournament this year. The coming year, the tournament will become a national event, with plans to spread out to Bangalore and other cities.

    Dr R K Pachauri, Director-General TERI, speaking on the occasion, said, "Shri Madhavrao Scindia was not only a great leader of the country but also an enthusiastic sportsman. He played the game actively and with great dedication, and this Cup is the best way we can think of commemorating him and his spirit." Mr Jyotiraditya Scindia, Hon'ble Member of Parliament, was present at the launch, along with Ms Shubhangi Kulkarni, Secretary, Women's Cricket Association of India; and Ms Anjum Chopra, former captain of the Indian women's cricket team.

    The teams playing in the tournament this year are: ITC, NIIT, HCL Technology, GE, Business Standard, Orient Craft, Vertax, Technovate, GAIL, Max New York Life, B L Kashyap, HDFC, Colt Technology, Citi Financial and Hero Honda, in addition to TERI. All the matches will be played at "Patchy Greens I & II", the TERI-developed cricket ground in the rocky region of Gual Pahari, Gurgaon.

    These lush green grounds have played host to many tournaments of repute, including two Ranji Trophy, one Duleep Trophy, and two matches of parliamentarians. The complex is also playing host to the Indian women's cricket team for the practice camp for the forth-coming England tour.

    Madhavrao Scindia Memorial Cricket Tournament is the third and most prestigious cricket tournament by TERI. TERI currently hosts two other tournaments: one, the Dattu Phadkar Cup for the 9th year running; and two, the TERI Cup for the 13th year.