Mycorrhiza for all: An under earth revolution 	7th International Conference on Mycorrhiza
6-11 January 2013
India Habitat Centre
New Delhi, India


1. The IMS / New Phytologist J. L. Harley Medal

Awarded for the best paper presented by a graduate student at ICOM

Mycorrhizal research has been marked by a number of pioneers whose activities encompassed the latter part of the 19th century and the early part of the 20th century. However, it was the publication in 1959 of the first edition of ‘The Biology of Mycorrhiza’ that provided the turning point in the history of research in this field. This book by John Laker Harley was the first to bring mycorrhiza and mycorrhizal research to a wide audience.

Professor Harley was a first class scientist who used the most recent biochemical and physiological techniques (including radioactive tracers) to elucidate some of the functional mechanisms of ectomycorrhizas. His approaches, and those of his many students, were always imaginative and rigorous, and served to demonstrate the fundamental importance of the ectomycorrhizal symbiosis. As well as being an excellent experimental scientist, Professor Harley, always affectionately known by his friends and colleagues simply as ‘Jack’, was an outstanding communicator. His enthusiasm for ectomycorrhiza, and his lively lecturing style, stimulated a marked increase in research into other categories of mycorrhizas, including arbuscular and ericoid mycorrhizas, and brought mycorrhizas to the attention of ecologists and plant physiologists. His work set the stage for mycorrhizal research as we know it today and he was instrumental in the development of many scientific careers in this discipline around the world.

Jack’s series of landmark papers on the physiology of ectomycorrhizas were published in New Phytologist starting in 1950, and from 1961 to 1983 he edited the journal, establishing its reputation as a home for top-quality mycorrhizal research.

Through creation of ‘The New Phytologist Harley Medal’, the International Mycorrhiza Society (IMS) and New Phytologist highlight John Laker Harley’s career as a model for younger scientists to follow. The medal is awarded, at each International Conference on Mycorrhiza (ICOM), to the graduate student who is deemed to have presented a paper which best emulates the rigorous approaches to mycorrhizal research that Professor Harley pioneered during his lifetime. The medal is also accompanied by prize money of £200 (GBP).

Any bona fide graduate student enrolled in an institution of higher learning or recently graduated (6 months before the first date of the international meeting) is eligible. An abstract must be submitted at the ICOM at which the student will compete for the Award (for details concerning abstract submission and deadlines see the ICOM announcements). All students who wish to compete for the award must indicate this by checking the appropriate box on the abstract form.

Every effort will be made to ensure that each student in the competition has a fair evaluation and an equal chance of winning the award. Oral presentations will be evaluated by a panel of judges and the final choice of the winner will be decided by the IMS Awards Committee. The merit of each paper will be judged on the basis of scientific content (60%) and presentation (40%).

2. Barbara Mosse - Laval Université Prize

Given by: Laboratoire de mycologie, Centre d’étude de la forêt, Université Laval

To be awarded to a graduate student for the second best oral presentation on any aspect of mycorrhiza research. The prize will consist of a certificate and 100$US.

3. Mycorrhiza Prize

Given by: The Journal, Mycorrhiza

To be awarded for the best poster presentation by a graduate student on any aspect of mycorrhiza research. The prize will consist of a certificate and voucher for 250$US towards the purchase of any book available at

4. Larry Peterson Anatomy Prize

Given by: Larry Peterson

To be awarded to a graduate student for the best poster presentation with emphasis on the structure of mycorrhizas. The prize will consist of a certificate, 100$US and a copy of the book ‘Mycorrhizas: Anatomy and Cell Biology’.

5. Ultimate Mycorrhiza Application for Harnessing Agriculture Resources Integration (UMAHARI Award)

Given by: Dr. Alok Adholeya

The participants of below 30 years are encouraged to nominate/register themselves for this award constituted and enacted by Dr. Alok Adholeya in fond memories of his Father and Mother. Through this award a best poster and a best oral presenter will be selected by an independent jury. The young researchers who have worked in application research of mycorrhiza towards product or inoculants would be considered for these two awards. The award includes cash prize of $ 100 each besides a certificate and citation

MCRC Awards

6. BioSyneterra Prize

Given by: Peter Moutoglis of BioSyneterra Solutions Inc.

To be awarded for the best oral presentation by a graduate student with emphasis on applied research and innovative/industrial applications with mycorrhizas. The prize will consist of a certificate and 100$US.

7. Biotisa Prize

Given by: Gerard Catroux of Biotisa

To be awarded to a graduate student for the best poster presentation dealing with applications of mycorrhizas. The prize will consist of a certificate and 100$US.