2nd India-Japan Energy Forum Promoting cooperation in energy efficiency

4-5 February 2008 Hyatt Regency, Bhikaji Cama Place, New Delhi

Day 1	Monday, 4 th February 2008
09:00 - 10:00	Registration
10:00 – 11:00	Inaugural session - Welcome addresses - Dr R K Pachauri, Director General, TERI - Mr Seiji Murata, Chairman, New Energy and Industrial Technology Development Organization (NEDO), Japan - Introductory remarks - Mr Yoshitaka Shindo, Senior Vice Minister, Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (METI), Japan - Inaugural address - Mr V Subramanian, Secretary, Ministry of New and Renewable Energy, Government of India - Vote of thanks - Mr Girish Sethi, Associate Director, TERI
11:00 – 11:20	Tea/Coffee
11:20 – 13:35	Session 1: Overview of energy conservation policy in India and Japan Chair person: Mr. Takashi Omote, Director, International Cooperation Office, Energy Conservation and Renewable Energy Dept., Agency for Natural Resources and Energy (ANRE), Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (METI), Japan
	 Panelists Dr Leena Srivastava, Executive Director, TERI Mr V Raghuraman, Principal Advisor, Confederation of Indian Industry Mr Kazuaki Koizawa, Senior Executive Director, New Energy and Industrial Technology Development Organization (NEDO), Japan Mr Jun Arima, Counselor, International Energy Negotiation, Agency for Natural Resources and Energy, Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (METI), Japan Mr Takashi Hongo, Special Advisor and Director General, Environment Finance Engineering Department, Japan Bank for International Cooperation Mr Tsuzuru Nuibe, Director General, International Cooperation Division, The Energy Conservation Center, Japan
13:35 – 14:30	Lunch

14:30 – 15:45	Session 2: Industry Sector: Technological options for efficiency improvement Chair person: Dr Ajay Mathur, Director General, Bureau of Energy Efficiency, Ministry of Power, Government of India Panelists 1. Mr D Kashiva, Addl. Industrial Adviser, Ministry of Steel, Government of India 2. Mr Masaaki Miki, Member, CO2 Breakthrough Working Group, Environment and Energy Committee, The Japan Iron and Steel Federation (General Manager, Technology Administration Department, Iron & Steel Sector, Kobe Steel, Ltd.) 3. Mr Yukio Tomita, Representative of The Iron and Steel Federation (Senior Staff, Environment and Resources Team, Technology Administration Department, Nisshin Steel Co., Ltd.)
15:45 – 16:05	Tea/Coffee
16:05 – 18:00	Session 2 (Contd): Industry Sector: Technological options for efficiency improvement Chair person: Dr Ajay Mathur, Director General, Bureau of Energy Efficiency, Ministry of Power, Government of India Panelists
	 Dr S P Ghosh, Advisor (Energy), Cement Manufacturers Association Mr Takahiro Kawano, Representative of Japan Cement Association (Deputy Manager, Project Promotion Department, Eco Technology Transfer Project Team, Taiheiyo Cement Corporation) Mr Hiroyuki Takano, Representative of Japan Cement Association (Manager, Biochemical Process Engineering Team, Research & Development Department, Research & Development Center, Taiheiyo Cement Corporation) Dr P Mukhopadhyaya, Chief Engineering Manager, Engineering Design and Research Centre (EDRC), Larsen & Toubro Limited Dr Shiro Okazaki, Director, Energy Conservation Technology Development Department, New Energy and Industrial Technology Development Organization (NEDO), Japan
19:30 onwards	Dinner
	Hotel Hyatt Regency, Bhikaji Cama Place, New Delhi, India 110066,
	Tel: +91 11 2679 1234
	Dinner speakers
	1. Mr Tarun Das, Chief Mentor, Confederation of Indian Industry (CII), New Delhi
	Mr Tomofumi Hiraku, Director General, Agency for Natural Resources and Energy (ANRE), Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (METI), Japan

Day 2	Tuesday, 5 th February 2008
09:00 – 10:30	Session 3: Technological options for promoting renewable energy
	Chair person: Mr V Subramanian, Secretary, Ministry of New and Renewable Energy, Government of India
	Panelists 1. Dr Alok Adholeya, Director-Biotechnology & Management of Bioresources, TERI 2. Mr Tashiro Kimura, General Manager, New Energy System Section, Environmental Machinery Department, Marubeni Corporation 3. Dr Pramod Deo, Chairman, Maharastra Energy Regulatory Commission, 4. Mr Junichi Honda, Manager, Sakura Solar Center, Corporate Solar Energy Group, Kyocera Corporation
10:30 – 10:50	Tea/Coffee
10:50 – 12:30	Session 4: Technological options for promoting energy efficiency in power sector
	Chair person: Mr Hirotoshi Kunitomo, Director, International Project Promotion Office, Manufacturing Industries Bureau, Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (METI), Japan
	Panelists 1. Mr K Ramanathan, Distinguished Fellow, TERI 2. Mr D K Jain, Executive Director (Engineering), NTPC Limited 3. Mr Seigou Mizunuma, Senior Executive Officer and Department Director, International Power Business Department, J-Power 4. Mr Hiroshi Yokota, General Manager, Steam Turbine Engineering Department, Power Systems Headquarters, Mitsubishi Heavy Industries, Ltd. 5. Mr Hiroshi Yokota, Project Leader, Hydropower Plant Engineering Section, Energy Plant & Systems Department, Energy Systems Center, Mitsubishi Electric Corporation
12:30 – 13:30	Closing session: The way forward: cooperation opportunities
	Chair person: Mr N Ravi, Secretary (East), Ministry of External Affairs, Government of India
	Panelists 1. Dr R K Pachauri, Director General, TERI 2. Mr Tomofumi Hiraku, Director General, Agency for Natural Resources and Energy (ANRE), Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry (METI), Japan 3. Mr Kazuaki Koizawa, Executive Director, New Energy and Industrial Technology Development Organization (NEDO), Japan
13:30 – 15:00	Lunch